Reality Check – Meek Mill and DC4 Blows

I gave it a shot. I wanted to like it so bad. I wanted to say Meek’s not really dead. But if you’re going to look me in the face and say DC4 is a good mixtape you are a dead liar. I took some time to listen to every song, break down each track, and give a non-biased review on the project. Here it is –

It fucking sucks.

For every PA kid that “reps Philly” and forces them self to love Meek, stop. Stop doing this to yourself. Is it a rule that if you’re from PA you have to love Meek Mill? There’s not one person in this entire state that doesn’t like this guy’s music, no matter how bad or repetitive it is. Meek to PA/Philly people is like what Christ is to Christianity. Except Christ didn’t get put in a #bodybag by a guy from Degrassi.

Funny you brought up that guy from Degrassi, because in case you forgot Drake MURDERED Meek. He killed him, wrote the obituary, and held a service for family and friends to pay their respects. What’s alarming is that some people would argue Meek won that beef and his music is better than Drake’s. I really really don’t want to be that guy that loves Drake and says Meek sucks, but I love Drake and Meek sucks. If that L wasn’t enough, I think The Game is actually going to real life kill Meek Mill. That Ooouuu remix went right at Meek’s throat and it is absolutely horrifying. It’s 4 minutes of The Game letting Meek know that he is going to shoot him in the face. When I heard that diss I was scared to go outside. I didn’t feel safe. When I heard these Meek “diss” tracks, along with DC4, I was just wondering why he was yelling so much. Why are you yelling at me, Meek? Stop screaming man. You’ve always been big on yelling but it’s annoying now. Every single song sounds exactly the same, especially on DC4. Everything he puts out now just sounds so forced.

I’m not going to sit here and act like I’m not a fan of Meek’s old stuff. His first two albums were good, DC2 was good, but that’s about it. I was hoping for him to go back to his old roots on DC4. I wanted “hold up wait a minute, y’all thought I was finished” Meek. That’s not what we’re working with on DC4, but I will say the intro to the first song On The Regular is unreal. That intro made me want to buy a gun. Lil Snupe also came back from the dead for a verse on Outro, which is awesome, but not enough to save the mixtape.

I think Meek fans are just so caught up in the whole “Philly” thing. It’s the same as being a fan of Philly teams. You guys need to snap out of this fantasy land you created in your head. The Eagles aren’t making the playoffs, Carson Wentz isn’t Jesus, and Meek Mill SUCKS now. I go to school in Philly and was out last night when DC4 came out, and the reaction was one of the most insane things I’ve ever seen. Nobody heard a single song yet and were on the verge of tears. “YOOOOOO HE DROPPED IT. MEEK DROPPED IT. HE DROPPED DC4. MEEK DROPPED THAT JAWN.” I thought one kid legitimately needed medical attention when he found out Meek Mill made music.

I hate to be the guy to break this news to the people of Pennsylvania, but it had to be said. Meek is washed up and DC4 is ass. You guys should check out Drake’s new music though. Fire.

Leave a Reply

