Friday Afternoon Rap Talk

After a few minutes of facing the internal debate of whether or not it’s worth it to get up and see what’s in my fridge, I decided to settle for the crumbs at the bottom of the family size bag of cool ranch Doritos laying next to me and call it a day. After wiping 80% of the aforementioned crumbs off my shirt, I open up my laptop to see an article published on DBS, “Reality Check – Meek Mill and DC4 Blows”.  First of all, I’d like to acknowledge the slow but steady rebirth of Dartboy Sports.  Really brings a smile to my face, shoutout to anyone reading this.

Now I don’t really know much about Meek besides “Dreams and Nightmares” and the fact that he essentially became a punchline after his “beef” with Drake, but I’d probably agree with the overarching message of JB’s article and say that he’s a pretty overrated (unless you listen to music with the intent to get really angry for no apparent reason). Howevah, it was all that pro-Drake bullshit that really stuck out to me here. I thought I was headed for an article of some casual Drake bashing after I read the “that guy from Degrassi” line, but nah. Drake is trash. Garbage. Junk. Thought I’d be able to think of more synonyms there. But how can someone consistently drop these type of lines in his songs and be referred to as a great rapper?

“Why you gotta fight with me at Cheesecake, you know I love to go there”

“All my ‘let’s just be friends’ are friends I don’t have anymore”

“I got bitches asking me about the code for the WiFi so they can talk about my timeline”

Those lyrics sound remind me of a sorority girl holding a pumpkin spice latte talking about how all guys are the same and she’ll be #foreveralone.  When I think of “rap” lyrics I think of Biggie robbing motherfuckers, 50 Cent talking about guns, or Jay-Z talking about his drug dealing days. Hard to imagine your average slut in Sigma Delta Beta dropping just about any line ever spoken by those rappers.  It truly baffles me how anyone can actually like this guy, he’s an absolutely colossal pussy. Soft as baby shit. But for now just give me some throwback 80s jams or some early 2000s rap hits and I’m good with that.  Fuck Drake.

 

*Warriors -11 and Navy +6.5 for a million each tonight*

Leave a Reply

