Rate ‘Em: Playoff Rankings

Image

It’s late at night and I won’t publish this until the morning but you know I’m always thinking of the DBS faithful in the waning hours of the night.  And right now, as I watch Game 4 of the Spurs and Trailblazers series, I thought of a nice little article.  This is going to be tough and I’m gonna bullshit this on the spot so, without further ado, Lange’s playoff rankings between all sports that I want to consider. 

5. Major League Baseball

I don’t know what it is but my love for baseball is dying more and more with each passing year.  The 162 game schedule, with 3 to 3 and a half hour games now becoming a regular just tire me out come October.  The new 1 game wild card playoff adds a much needed excitement element to the MLB playoffs but baseball still doesn’t compare to the top 4.

4. National Basketball Association 

Damn, this is a lot harder than I thought it would be.  Honestly, the top 4 are all so damn close.  Like, I used to HATE the NBA about 2 years ago.  No defense.  No offensive sets.  Just one on one isolation crap.  But I’ve grown to enjoy the NBA game again and these NBA playoffs are insane.  Favorite game thus far? GOTTA be Vinsanity turning back the clock 47 years and hitting that buzzer beating 3 from the corner for the win.

3. National Hockey League

Before I defend the reasoning here, I really want to question my properness of listing these sports by their full name and not the shortened acronym.  I’m such a nerd.  Anyways, I don’t know anything about hockey.  Just learned about icing last week.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t love the intensity and grittiness that comes with an NHL hockey game.  LGR baby!!!! 

2. NFL

As a Giants fan, I’ve experienced some crazy, crazy stuff in the playoffs.  Wild, unexpected, and yes, maybe a little lucky, runs en route to 2 super bowl championships. What I love especially about the NFL playoffs is you play 16 grueling games and only 6 teams from each conference makes the playoffs. I hate hearing the argument that the NFL should expand to 8 team playoffs.  No, shut up America. Everyone doesn’t need a trophy.

1. NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament

You knew I was going here didn’t you but can you blame me?  This past NCAA tournament was maybe the best one that ever happened and its not like it was a one time thing.  America lives for the George Masons, the Butlers, the VCUs, the Florida Gulf Coasts. Everyone loves rooting for the underdog.  No better time of the year to root for an underdog than March Madness like the University of Connecticut Huskies. 

P.S. Kevin Ollie is going to stay and UConn is going to become a dynasty.

Leave a Reply

